two skinny jenkins


090524 – Marathon Training for real
090524, 6:28 pm
Filed under: MULTISPORT

It is time to get serious about marathon training.  We are moving to Boston in August, and soon thereafter running the Bay State Marathon on October 18th in hopes to qualify for the Boston Marathon.  Here is a MAP of the Bay State race.  I am DETERMINED to qualify for the Boston marathon at the Bay State Marathon…  I ran my last marathon in 3:50 and it was pretty painful for the last 4 miles (i think about average pain, but painful nonetheless).  I need a 3:40 or under time to qualify, so I have quite a bit of time to shave off.  This means longer runs, faster runs, and probably loosing a few pounds.

I have gained about 5-8 lbs since college and am determined to loose 5.  Since it seems like we are always training for something (the triathlon this whole winter, and the Marine Corps Marathon before that) i have had the mentality that i can eat whatever i want, when i want it.  I do not have much self control when it comes to food, and have never really been on a diet.

I signed up for the Richmond Marathon last fall when we both expected to be attending UVA for graduate school.  Chances are, I will not have the money to fly down to Richmond from Boston for the race.  If i do get a buddy pass, there is also a good change that the flight will fill up.  In the event that i can get to Richmond on the 14th of November, I think i will try to run both marathons.

Hopefully all of our triathlon cross training has set me up well.  I definitely feel stronger than ever.  The traithlon training was a much bigger time commitment than i have ever made before, so maybe the marathon training will feel like a break!

Okay, here’s my training program (just distances): http://www.roadtoboston.com/djapps/trainingPlans/viewPlan/5/

And here are my speeds (given a 6:13 mile run): http://www.mcmillanrunning.com/mcmillanrunningcalculator.htm

My new training program (as of 090630) from the Boston Athletic Association: http://www.bostonmarathon.org/BostonMarathon/MarathonTraining.asp?training=rookieprogram

WISH ME LUCK!


Leave a Comment so far
Leave a comment



Leave a comment