two skinny jenkins


091013 – Pane Siciliano | BBA #23
091013, 12:37 pm
Filed under: BBA Challenge | Tags:

Pane Siciliano

BBA #23

This might be my favorite bread yet!  I guess it’s easy to think that when you’re eating a warm slice of it and memories of breads past fade away.  I have always really liked the semolina loaf at Whole Foods, and this recipe produced a very similar (though maybe more attractive) loaf.

I was warned by Paul of Yumarama that the final loaf (as prescribed by the recipe) does not come out looking like the photograph in the book, maybe due to a lack of glazing.  So I decided to experiment.  Of the three loafs produced by this recipe, I glazed one with an egg wash, one with olive oil (photo above), and left the last one plain.  I sprinkled both the egg wash and plain breads with black sesame seeds.  After baking for about 45 minutes (I think  there is something wrong with my oven!)  the difference was clear.  Based on my results, I think the loaf photographed for the book was glazed with olive or some other oil.

Check out more process photos on FLICKR.


6 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Oh my god, that is gorgeous! I’m still a couple of breads away, and you certainly set the bar high.

Comment by Janice

Thank you so much! It is delicious, too.

Comment by twoskinnyjenkins

The bread detective at work. I am glad that it is delicious, I am looking forward to it.

Comment by AnneMarie

[…] Carolyn… […]

Pingback by BBA#23: PANE SICILIANO « Bewitching Kitchen

Beautiful S-loaves. The shape is perfect, and the crust is awesome.

Comment by Daniel

[…] Two Skinny Jenkins […]

Pingback by Bread Baker’s Apprentice Challenge: Pane Siciliano — Pinch My Salt




Leave a comment