two skinny jenkins


090820 – Kaiser Rolls | BBA #16
090823, 7:57 am
Filed under: BBA Challenge, DINNER | Tags:

Kaiser Rolls

BBA #16

So far so good! I have been SO glad I decided to do this Bread Bakers Apprentice Challenge.  Marathon training is probably the BEST time to be consuming such vast quantities of bread.

I made these rolls for Joe’s and my sendoff dinner that his mother threw us the other night.  She invited my family and his grandparents over for the day before we move up to Boston.  Our ‘vacation’ in Charlottesville went by too quickly!  We did a pretty good job of keeping ourselves busy.  We bought and reapulstered dining chairs, refinished a new bed frame, drove an hour to Lynchburg to buy a lamp at this great little second hand furniture shop called Loft 3F, made pillows, and baked and ate some bread.

Since I wanted to make enough large sandwich rolls for 10 adults, I made a full pâte fermente recipe and 1 1/2 x recipe of the kaiser rolls.  I made these in ONE day, by adding a double yeast in the pâte fermente to speed up the rising process.  This is probably a big no-no, but the rolls came out very well anyway.  After mixing and proofing, the fermente sat i the fridge for about 4 hours.  From there I followed the rest of the Kaiser roll recipe, using a little more than 1 1/2 times the recipe ammount of barley malt syrup.  I baked the rolls for just 14 minutes using the oven’s convection setting and they came out golden brown.  They were a little hard on the outsided but tasty and soft on the inside.

If i were to make thesea again, I would (1) allow time to properly follow the two day recipe and (2) try to mimic a kaiser roll cutter for forming. The method shown on page 82 of looping the dough around looked pretty, but had a tendancy to fall apart.

Homemade BBQ Sandwich

Beef brisket BBQ recipe coming soon!

FLICKR photo link.


13 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Those look utterly wonderful! Looking forward to making them next week!

Comment by Paul

These look great! Take a look at this roll shape and see if you like it better. They don’t fall apart…can’t wait to make PR’s version…

http://friedalovesbread.blogspot.com/2008/11/best-hamburger-buns.html

Comment by Frieda

I definitely like yours better! How were they formed? The ‘rosette’ style link on your post didn’t work for me…

Comment by twoskinnyjenkins

I can’t say how hungry I got just looking at that BBQ. I dropped what I was doing and went to the kitchen for lunch.

I wish your sandwich was there. So much for quantum physics. 🙂

Comment by Blog Header Guy

thanks for the complement! I should post that BBQ recipe soon… then you CAN have one in your kitchen!

Comment by twoskinnyjenkins

Great job on the rolls! I am anxious to make these, the weekend better come fast!

Good luck on your marathon training – been there, ate my share of carbo-loaded meals on the evening before long training runs 🙂

Comment by sallybr

very nice, I usually do the burger buns (basically the same recipe) the same day and they are always very good.

Comment by nico

[…] from Two Skinny Jenkins Deborah, from Italian Food Forever Maggie, from The Other Side of Fifty Devany, from My Hawaiian […]

Pingback by BBA#16: KAISER ROLLS « Bewitching Kitchen

[…] of TwoSkinnyJenkins made her Kaiser Rolls while in the process of moving. Talk about dedication! Oggi at ICanDoThat did […]

Pingback by Kaiser Rolls from The Bread Baker's Apprentice | The Yumarama Bread Blog

Great tips. I just bought a kaiser roll cutter for this purpose. I have a few more breads to go before I make these, but I’m looking forward to them!

Comment by Madam Chow

[…] Kaiser Rolls from Two Skinny Jenkins […]

Pingback by Bread Baker’s Apprentice Challenge: Kaiser Rolls — Pinch My Salt

[…] Kaiser Rolls from Two Skinny Jenkins […]

Pingback by Bread Baker’s Apprentice Challenge: Kaiser Rolls- Recipes for Everyone

[…] 090820 – Kaiser Rolls | BBA #16 August 200912 comments 5 […]

Pingback by 2010 in review « two skinny jenkins




Leave a comment