two skinny jenkins


090612 – Petit Braided Challah | BBA #6
090612, 10:01 pm
Filed under: BBA Challenge | Tags: ,

Challah

BBA Challenge #6!  Working on down the alphabet.  I hate to say this, but it kind of feels like i only make bread now.  No time for those other food groups!  Not that i am complaining… From what i have seen so far, a lot of people in the BBA challenge claim that this is their favorite bread.  I, for one, am SUPER excited about the Ciabatta next week – i have a huge crush on porous, chewy, baguettey, Italian breads.

I made a half recipe of the Challah, and i actually got the division right!  I swear it’s not that the math is a challenge, I just have a hard time staying focused while i bake.   This was an easy and relatively quick bread to make (only one day), even though it only had a teaspoon of yeast.

In the end, despite the small amount of yeast, the bread is not nearly as petit as i had expected it to be.  In fact, it is pretty big.  A full recipe must be huge!  My dough rose more than the book predicted., maybe partly because it proofed THREE times! i had a really hard time punching down all those beautiful bubbles.  I hope there are some left! I am bringing it to the beach tomorrow for my in-laws and i think it will make a better impression if it arrives intact.  So, i will have to let you know how it tastes.


As per usual, check my process photos on FLICKR!

petit boule egg wash

You may find a portion of the recipe on googlebooks.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Looks perfect and yummy! I love Challah – like you said easy and in one day – bonus! Have fun at the beach!! Happy baking!

Comment by Jenn @ Pete Eatemall

That’s some great looking challah! Much better than mine came out.

Comment by Dave Reed

Beautiful. You did great. I also like the one day recipes. 🙂
Susie

Comment by Susie

Your challah looks beautiful. Great job on the math division!! Day 2 challah is always better toasted.

Comment by saltandserenity

Good tip about toasting the bread on the second day… I might even try making french toast of it. I wish i had sampled it while it was fresh – it was a bit dry on the second day.

Comment by twoskinnyjenkins

Beautiful challah!

Comment by sahrabara

[…] the 3 cups of all purpose flour we had remaining.  Challah was my favorite sweet bread from the Bread Baker’s Apprentice Challenge, and I quite enjoyed the process of braiding it.  Then I realized that we had yummy dates and […]

Pingback by 130304 – Challa with Raisin and Date Compote | two skinny jenkins




Leave a Reply

