two skinny jenkins


090518 – GREEK CELEBRATION BREAD | BBA #2
090518, 3:35 pm
Filed under: BBA Challenge | Tags:

Golden Brown Christopsomos

Well, this serves me right.   In preparation to make this bread – the second assignment of the BREAD BAKER’S APPRENTICE CHALLENGE – I had looked at other participants bread photos online.  In comparison to the bread photographed in the book, i thought that the shape of the challenge members swirls were lacking.  I thought to myself ‘this is going to be EASY – I am going to have the most gorgeous loaf of all!’  Although i had a great time shaping the loaf, it is clear to see that it was not as easy as i anticipated.

I actually took this Artos – Greek Celebration Bread* one step further to create Christopsomos.  Don’t ask me to pronounce that.  It is basically Greek Celebration Bread with some golden raisins, dried cranberries, and toasted walnuts thrown in.  I love bread with lots of stuff in it, and i love dried fruit, so i couldn’t resist. In fact, i was so antsy to add the fruit that i didn’t fully read the recipe instructions and put it in a step to early.  I was supposed to kneed the dough for 8 full minutes before adding the goodies, but instead, i mixed it in before the dough was fully formed and kneaded it all together.  This could be part of the reason why my dough did not fully double in the 1:45 that i allowed it to proof (it was only supposed to take 90 minutes).

I am waiting for Joe to come home to cut it up, so i will post more photos later!

ALSO – check out my photos on flickr!

One more thing – if anyone is wondering what to get me for Christmas, or maybe a half-birthday gift – i have a suggestion!

*out of respect for this wonderful book and it’s copyright, i will not publish the recipes on my blog.  You may find the recipe (or at least part of it) on googlebooks.

7 Comments so far
Leave a comment

[…] better to go with my new Christopsmosos loaf?  Plus, after a full day of bread baking, i am ready to take it easy with dinner.  Joe made […]

Pingback by 090518 – Greek Chicken Salad « two skinny jenkins

Looks tasty! I loved this bread..fruit and nuts – De-lish! Now on to bagels…Happy Baking!

Comment by Jenn @ Pete Eatemall

You did great. Your loaf is pretty. 🙂 Can’t wait to hear the results of cutting it open.
You ought to buy your self a great baker reward and get that dough cutter/scrapper thingy. I have had one forever. They come in handy.
Susie

Comment by Susie

Wow…how gorgeous! You shaped yours so beautifully. Great job!

Comment by Mags

Okay, that’s just beautiful! I’m currently in the “refreshing my barm” stage in order to be ready for a Friday bake of this bread. I can only hope mine turns out half as pretty as yours.

Comment by Janice

Looks great!

Comment by Rebeca

very nice, looks good.

Comment by nico




Leave a Reply

