two skinny jenkins


100131 – Poolish Baguettes | BBA #26
100131, 10:53 am
Filed under: BBA Challenge | Tags:

Bread Bakers Apprentice #26

Woopsies.  I am a wee bit behind on my blog posting.   I blame the lack of inspiration i found in this bread.  To it’s credit, i was juggling this and my first attempt at homemade pasta and first-time guests all at the same time and couldn’t give the bread all the attention it deserves.  Still, as a moderately skilled baker and multi-tasker, I expected more out of it.  The taste was bland.  The texture was so-so.  It didn’t have a nice crunch crust like Pain de Campagne, it wasn’t nice and airy like Pain a L’ancienne, and it wasn’t as tasty as it’s twin, Italian Bread.  I think that the next time i want some baguettes, i will make on of the three former breads or a nice Ciabatta.





Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.