two skinny jenkins


100117 – #29 Pugliese
100123, 9:56 am
Filed under: BBA Challenge | Tags: ,


BBA Challenge #29

I totally messed this one up.  Or so I thought.  I was already making an alteration to the recipe by using sweet mashed potato instead of regular potatoes.  Then i got a little over zealous and threw in over a CUP instead of a quarter cup.  That was a mistake.  When i was mixing the dough (via Kitchen Aid) it felt way too liquid-y. I knew I had thrown off the proportions by using too much potato, so I threw in a little extra yeast and some more flour.  I also partly used the wrong type of flour.  I used a combination of a half cup of semolina and some whole wheat pastry flour in place of the durum wheat   I used the bread flour that the recipe called for.  I followed the stretch and fold method per the Bread Bakers Apprentice, but let it cold rise in the fridge for about 4 hours while at the gym.


The end result tasted really good, but i am not sure what kind of bread i really made.




Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.