two skinny jenkins


091012 – Butternut Suash Soup
091012, 9:14 pm
Filed under: DINNER | Tags: , , , ,

butternut soup

This was one of my first ‘specialties’.  It is a really healthy soup and made with one of my all time favorite vegetables; butternut squash.  Depending on how much you blend it, it can come out silky, creamy smooth or slightly chunky and brothy.  Tonight I served it topped with toasted pumpkin seeds and with a side beet salad with a dill-garlic-yogurt dressing.  AND a slice of Pane Siciliano – BBA Challenge #23 – blog post on that coming soon!

  • 1 medium (2lb) butternut squash
  • 2 small potatoes, cut into cubes
  • 1 medium onion, diced
  • 2 carrots, chopped
  • 32 oz. chicken broth or stock
  • salt and pepper to taste
  1. cut squash in half, remove seeds, and bake  at 375 F for 1 hour
  2. brown all veggies (including baked squash) in a large pot for 5 min.
  3. add stock/ broth and simmer for 40 min over low heat
  4. blend with immersion blender until smooth (or regular blender)
  5. add salt and pepper to taste and serve! (good with a dollop of sour cream or plain yogurt)
1 Comment so far
Leave a comment

I’m really glad I checked your blog this afternoon. I learned a few things as in your ankle! I was happy to see the pumpkin soup recipe since I have two small pumpkins from last year’s growers market still sitting on my counter. I’m trying it. Plus I enjoyed reading about Joe’s culinary skills. Must also say the pizzas looked yummy–I made some dough earlier today and it’s proofing now. Hope you can get back to the blog! You two are terrific!!!

Comment by Jeanne




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

