two skinny jenkins


090814 – Celebration Bread | BBA #11
090814, 9:57 pm
Filed under: BBA Challenge, DESSERT, SNACK | Tags: ,

Cellebration BreadBBA #11 | Celebration Bread

I finally got around to making this celebration bread (I baked challenge #15 last weekend)!  I would not feel like I had conquered the Bread Baker’s Apprentice if i never baked this bread. In part, I blame Joe for my procrastination.  He did not like the Artos (Greek Celebration Bread) I had made way back when for challenge #2,  and has been trying to convince me to skip it entirely.  Now that i have baked it, it has turned into one of his favorites!

More than half the loaf is gone. I personally thought it was about 10 x better than the Artos.  Either my baking skills have drastically improved, or using the lemon extract, or both made a big difference.  The extract smelled amazing.  The bread had a lot of flavor and was just the right amount of sweet, between the 3 T of sugar and dried cranberries.  I think this will make great french toast (or regular toast) in the morning and it will definitely make an appearance at Thanksgiving!  Thank you Peter Reinhart!

As a side note: I had to go out during the day, so after shaping the loaf, I kept it in the refrigerator for about 4 hours.  I took it out when i got home and let it warm up/ proof on the counter for 90 minutes (partly while preheating the oven).

Cran-walnut Crumb

More photos coming soon on FLICKR!


3 Comments so far
Leave a comment

Looks great, and it does make a fantastic french toast.

Comment by chris

it looks great… i´m sure it tastes even better!!!

oxoox

Comment by fargopatt

Looks totally awesome! I love the way the braids came out! I also loved eating this bread, though mine came out, visually, less than ideal.

Comment by misterrios




Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

